https://kotlinlang.org logo
#compose
Title
# compose
m

myanmarking

12/30/2021, 4:32 PM
is there any immediate future plans to improve preview? Atm is the current bottleneck. too slow. Otherwise compose is dope
👌 2
c

Colton Idle

12/30/2021, 4:35 PM
I think there was a commit to AOSP that showed the intention to remove the use of gradle for previews. So I think they are definiteily going to ship something for that to try really soon
m

myanmarking

12/30/2021, 4:36 PM
oh. thats really nice, thanks! Atm, as a beginner, i find it to hard to learn by trying, as the preview is hugelly slow
c

Colton Idle

12/30/2021, 4:53 PM
yeahhh. make sure live literals is on (it should be on by default), but it makes things super fast when you're just tweaking small values.
j

Javier

12/30/2021, 5:01 PM
that preview is Android one no? Hope efforts on creating a KMP one and/or hot reload
👍 1
m

myanmarking

12/30/2021, 5:02 PM
yes, AS preview
t

Tgo1014

12/30/2021, 11:03 PM
Also my preview fails to deploy direct to the device, is it just me or is some issue with canary?
c

Chris Sinco [G]

12/31/2021, 1:57 AM
@Tgo1014 what's the error you are getting and what Canary version?
t

Tgo1014

12/31/2021, 10:01 AM
Copy code
FAILURE: Build completed with 4 failures.

1: Task failed with an exception.
-----------
* What went wrong:
Execution failed for task ':app:processStagingDebugAndroidTestManifest'.
> Could not resolve all files for configuration ':app:stagingDebugAndroidTestRuntimeClasspath'.
   > Could not find androidx.test.espresso:espresso-core:3.2.4.
@Chris Sinco [G] this is 1 of 4 erros but all are basically the same where it can’t find a dependency