Thread
#compose
    Henning B

    Henning B

    2 years ago
    I am testing out compose a bit. Just wondering if the preview is supposed to take this long to appear? One Hello World Text can take several seconds like 3-4 until it appears.
    d

    damianpetla

    2 years ago
    not sure if it suppose to but I have the same issue with this feature, takes too much time
    Sergey Y.

    Sergey Y.

    2 years ago
    I have the same issue. My small project is compiling faster than compose preview is refreshing 😃
    a

    allan.conda

    2 years ago
    Probably could be faster in the future. Anyway, the point is you don’t have to build the whole app. It doesn’t matter so much for a tiny project that builds faster. And yes, ours takes the same time 😄
    Henning B

    Henning B

    2 years ago
    Good to know that it's not a bug 😉 @allan.conda Good point. I was wondering where the benefit of the preview is when compilation takes the same amount of time but for a big project there will be a bigger difference. I have no doubts that it will get faster down the road 😃
    Sergey Y.

    Sergey Y.

    2 years ago
    Yes, the feature is definitely great. Would love to see working animations as well. I know the work in progress on them.
    d

    damianpetla

    2 years ago
    I think the killer feature of preview is ability to launch individual view on device, that is sometimes a burden on big projects that require multiple steps to get to the view
    sante

    sante

    2 years ago
    Also, you can launch previews with different themes and configurations so you don't have to do all of that on device
    v

    Vinay Gaba

    2 years ago
    Definitely not meant to be a replacement for Preview, but if you don’t mind a really quick incremental build, this might be helpful for your workflow - https://github.com/airbnb/Showkase (Disclaimer: I worked on this)